Palliative Care Australia Board

  • Professor Meera Agar

    Board Chair

  • Ms Helen Walker

    Deputy Chair

  • Mr Alec Wagstaff

    Non-Executive Director

  • Ms Shannon Calvert

    Lived Experience Educator and Advisor

  • Ms Sarah Richards

    Certified Practising Accountant

  • Ms Ilsa Hampton

    CEO, Meaningful Ageing Australia

  • Dr Jayne Hewitt

    Lecturer, School of Nursing & Midwifery, Griffith University

  • Ms Rachel Coghlan

    Researcher, Centre for Humanitarian Leadership, Deakin University, and Palliative Care Physiotherapist

  • Mr Vlad Aleksandric

Past President and Chairs of PCA

PCA launched in 1998, developing from the Australian Association for Hospice and Palliative Care Inc which started in 1991.

Click here for a list of Past Presidents and Chairs of Palliative Care Australia, 1991 –

Board Directors Nominations 2022 Open for Palliative Care Australia Limited Board

Palliative Care Australia (PCA) is a dynamic peak national health organisation that advocates for quality palliative care for all people, no matter where they live. 

At the 2022 Palliative Care Australia Limited Annual General Meeting an election will be conducted for three (3) vacant position on the PCA Board. 

The AGM will take place on Tuesday 29th November 2022 via Zoom at 12:30pm AEDT.  

A Board position at PCA offers you the opportunity to contribute to the direction, governance, and effectiveness of PCA, at a key time in our country’s conversation around aged care and health care reform, and end-of-life care. 

The PCA Board is made up of Directors who offer a mix of skills and experience in the delivery of their responsibilities. 

Board meetings are held four (4) times each year around Australia and via video conferencing, with Directors involved in specialist committee work between those events. 

Board Directors are elected for a three-year term at Annual General Meetings. They are eligible to stand for re‐election but may not serve more than three consecutive terms. 

If you are interested in one of these voluntary positions, please fill out a Board Director Nomination Form and submit a two (2) minute video outlining your interest, skills, and experience.  

If you have any questions or want to know more, please contact Tamara McKee, Company Secretary, via or call 0422 814 750 

Key dates: 

  • Nominations close: Thursday 29th September 2022 5:00pm AEST 
  • Election held: Tuesday 29th November 2022 12:30pm AEDT